Richard Llewellyn appointed to SEStran Board
Transport Research Institute academic, Richard Llewellyn, has been appointed to serve a four-year term as a non-Councillor board member on the South East of Scotland Transport Partnership (SEStran) Board.

Date posted

9 August 2018

The South East of Scotland Transport Partnership (SEStran) is the statutory regional transport partnership for the South East of Scotland. The partnership comprises eight local authority areas including the City of Edinburgh, the Lothians, Clackmannanshire, Falkirk, Fife and the Scottish Borders. The partnership's goal is to address cross-boundary transport issues in the region, though promotion and delivery of a series of objectives in its Regional Transport Strategy.

Richard Llewellyn, a lecturer in the School of Engineering and the Built Environment and a member of the Transport Research Institute, went through a vigorous interview and selection process and was appointed following formal approval by the Scottish Government Transport Minister this summer.

In his role, Richard will attend the quarterly Partnership Board meetings in addition to various other specialist topic area committee meetings and forums as required. In conjunction with his fellow board members, he will oversee and help drive the direction of the organisation in the ever-changing transport landscape.

Richard said: "A quarter of the population of Scotland lives within the SEStran area and we have a continually strong and growing regional economy. By working towards a fully-integrated, cross-boundary transport network we can ensure that access to the very best employment, health and leisure opportunities is open to all. I look forward to contribution to the Board's activities by combining my transport industry experience with the latest international research and best practice."

Richard's appointment will reinforce the links between Edinburgh Napier University and Scotland's main transport bodies, continuing the contribution of the Transport Research Institute to the national transport agenda.